Tickets

Dialect: A Game about Language and How it Dies 

Offical site

About the Game
Dialect is a tabletop roleplaying game about an isolated community, their language, and what it means for that language to be lost. It’s a GM-less game for 3-5 people that runs in 3-4 hours. The game’s core spark comes from gradually build­ing up elements of language among players, who gain fluency in their own dialect over the course of play.

Words are built off of the fundamental traits of the community, the pivotal events that have defined their lives, and how they respond to a changing world. Players use the language and explore both their characters and the world by asking what this new language really means to them. A new word is made, the language grows, and the community is tightened.

From age to age, the Isolation changes and we see those changes reflected in the language. In the end, you'll define how the language dies and what happens to the Isolation. Players take away both the story they’ve told together and this new language.

The Team:
Thorny Games

Billetterie

Dialect: A Game about Language and How it Dies 

Site officiel

Le Jeu
Dialect est un jeu de rôle sur table autour d’une communauté isolée, de sa langue, et de l’impact causé par la disparition de cette langue. Ce jeu se joue de 3 à 5 joueurs, sans maître de jeu. Les parties durent entre 3 et 4 heures. Pour jouer, les joueur·se·s doivent construire petit à petit des éléments de langage entre eux et apprendre à maîtriser leur propre dialecte au cours de la partie.

Les mots sont créés à partir des aspects fondamentaux de la communauté, des événements-clés qui définissent la vie de ses membres, et de leur réaction à un monde en évolution. Les joueur·se·s sondent à la fois leurs personnages et le monde en s’interrogeant sur ce que cette nouvelle langue représente vraiment pour eux. Un nouveau mot se forme, la langue évolue, et la communauté se rapproche.

Au fil du temps, l’Isolation se transforme et ce changement se reflète sur le langage. À la fin, vous choisissez comment la langue meurt et ce qu’il advient de l’Isolation. Les joueur·se·s repartent avec l’histoire qu'ils et elles ont construite ensemble et avec cette nouvelle langue.

L’Équipe
Thorny Games